Cheers To My 1st Blogiversary!

BEAUTYCUBED

Today marks one year since I started my blog. It’s been a fun journey, full of self discovery. I’m thankful to everyone whose supported my journey so far and love hearing all your feedback, suggestions and love when you join the conversation.

This past year, blogging has given me a lot of insight about you – my readers and how this web of social media works and have decided to share some these insights with you so we can share in this milestone together.

The Dark Skinned Girl Struggle is Real 

My best post to date has been about Growing Up a Dark Skinned Girl. I talk about how being Hindu, Punjabi, I was considered dark and the toll it took on my self esteem. This post was shared and liked 100s of times and I get a google search with terms such as “How to be fairer skin Punjabi”, “Being a dark Punjabi girl”, “Is dark skin beautiful?”, driving it to my blog almost daily. I can’t help but think that these are young girls and boys who have society making them feel less beautiful because they are dark and I truley hope from the bottom of my heart that when they see my post, they leave feeling better.

Kim Kardashian Gets You Cheap Views

You can love or hate her, but this woman is many people’s secret guilty pleasure. Anytime I’ve posted about her, I’ve gotten an overwhelming amount of views, simply because she was the topic of interest. I’ve decided to hold off doing any posts related to her, because I want to focus on things that matter and raise my profile on real, sustainable issues.

Not All Criticism is Constructive

When you start a blog, everyone has an opinion, and sometimes those opinions are served on a cold dish of criticism. Maybe that is not their intent, but it still hurts. I’ve learned to decipher between what is constructive and what isn’t. If the people giving you criticism don’t use social media or haven’t written anything since a text message; chances are they aren’t the right source for getting feedback. I’ve been lucky to be surrounded by a select few social media experts whom I go to for feedback. Sometimes it hurts to hear what they have to say, but it’s mostly been very useful and I’ve grown tremendously from it.

You Never Know Unless You Ask

I remember when I was 8 years old, my sister, friend and I, all dressed alike, decided to wrap grass and dirt into leaves and sell it as the inedible version of the Indian delicacy, called paan. We went door to door in our neighbourhood – and I’m not sure if it was out of pity or people found it cute, but they actually bought it! I’m pretty sure this was my idea. Yes…hustling was play time for me from early years. I’ve taken this mentality into my blogging as well. I’ve connected with people, made cold calls, proposing ideas with the thought – what’s the worse that can happen? They say no, and you’re back to where you started, so there’s literally no harm unless you ask.

Leave a Reply

