Birthday Style Watch – the 30th edition

I turned 30 this past week and celebrated this weekend with a surprise birthday dinner followed by drinks downtown.  Since I didn’t know what was going on, I wanted an outfit that could go with the flow but still said birthday girl at the same time.  For my 30th birthday, I wanted a look that was sophisticated yet sexy – a reflection of what I think it is to be in your 30s. I break down my look from head to toe below.

HAIR

I love getting blow outs at Blo Bar.  You can pre buy a blow tab – 8 blow dries for the price of 7 – and they have several locations.  I often go to the Exchange Tower location in Toronto during the weekdays and there’s one conveniently located 15 minutes from my home in downtown Oakville.  Since they specialize in blow dries, you’re in and out in no time and their blow outs are always on point.  I wanted a voluminous look with soft curls.  To achieve this look, my stylist did the pin curl technique.  She applied mousse when my hair was wet to give me extra volume, set it with a light hair spray and gave me a light tease for extra volume at the crown.

photo 3    photo 4

MAKE UP

I did a heavy matted smokey eye paired with a soft nude lip.  This is one of my go to glam looks – I love the soft sultry effect it has on my features.

photo

Face: Too Faced Primed & Poreless Primer; Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Even Finish Foundation; MAC Mineral Powder

Contouring/Highlight/Blush: MAC Blunt Powder Blush for contouring; MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Shimmer Powder for highlighting; MAC Dollymix Sheertone Shimmer Blush

Eyebrows: MAC Brown Powder Eyeshadow to colour in my eyebrows; Sephora clear mascara to set my eyebrows

Eyes: Stila Prime Pot Eyeshadow Primer; Too Faced Matte Eye Eyeshadow Pallette; Make Up Forever Aqua Black Cream Cake Eyeliner; Quo Glamour Lashes; Rimmel Soft Kohl Kajal Eyeliner Pencil in Jet Black to line my waterline

Lips: MAC Lip Pencil in Half-Red; MAC Honeylove Lipstick; MAC Baby Love Lipgloss

OUTFIT

photo 1   photo 2

Dress: Topshop

Shoes: Nude Pigalle Louboutins

Purse: Classic medium size Chanel purse in calf skin

Jewellery: Custom made white gold hoops, small black beaded bracelet

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

One Comment on “Birthday Style Watch – the 30th edition

Leave a Reply

